Ah…to be Independent: A look at Independence Day Celebrations Around the World

I loved celebrating America’s birthday, the 4th of July, in Washington, D.C. a few years ago. Between the parades, museum tours, fireworks, shows, and yes – a strong sunburn, the 4th of July in 2009 was quite memorable.

This year, I will be spending America’s birthday on the road – as I make my way south of Ohio towards Texas for my two-week break from the office (but fortunately, not a two-week break from blogging!). However, I thought it would be apt to include some links to articles talking about how other countries celebrate their own independence days!

An article in the Huffington Post in 2009 has some great photos and stories of countries ranging in names and locations from Finland to India. http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/07/02/independence-day-celebrat_n_222582.html

To read a more recent article done on the independence story of the Philippines, click here: http://www.gmanetwork.com/news/story/261627/pinoyabroad/news/pinoys-around-the-world-celebrate-phl-independence-day

To see from a non-profit’s point of view on the celebrations around the world for independence, visit Opportunity International’s page on it: http://www.opportunity.org/blog/celebrating-independence-day-around-the-world/

For those that are celebrating America’s day of independence, I wish you a safe and happy holiday. For those that aren’t, I wish you many moments and years of peaceful independence, wherever you may be.

